Home » Contact Us » Staff » Daniel Fleetwood, PhD

Daniel Fleetwood, PhD

Professor of Electrical Engineering
Chair, EECS Department
Google Scholar Profile
Dan Fleetwood received his Ph.D. from Purdue University in 1984. He joined Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, in 1984, and was named a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff in 1990. Dan joined Vanderbilt University as a Professor of Electrical Engineering in 1999. In 2003 he was named Chairman of Vanderbilt’s Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and in 2009 he was named Olin H. Landreth Chair in Engineering. His research interests include the radiation response and reliability of microelectronic devices and materials, low-frequency noise, defects in microelectronic materials and devices, and radiation hardness assurance test methods. He serves as senior editor for radiation effects of the IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science, distinguished lecturers chair of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society AdCom, and vice-chair for publications of the radiation effects technical committee of the IEEE NPSS. He received the 2009 IEEE NPSS Merit Award, the society’s highest technical honor, and is a Fellow of IEEE and the American Physical Society.
Highlighted Publications:
R. Jiang, X. Shen, J. Fang, P. Wang, E. X. Zhang, J. Chen, D. M. Fleetwood, R. D. Schrimpf, S. W. Kaun, E. C. H. Kyle, J. S. Speck, and S. T. Pantelides, “Multiple defects cause degradation after high field stress in AlGaN/GaN HEMTs,” IEEE Trans. Dev. Mater. Reliab., vol. 18, no. 3, pp. 364-376, Sept. 2018. DOI: 10.1109/TDMR.2018.2847338
D. M. Fleetwood, “Evolution of total ionizing dose effects in MOS devices with Moore’s Law scaling,” IEEE Trans. Nucl. Sci., vol. 65, no. 8, pp. 1465-1481, Aug. 2018. DOI: 10.1109/TNS.2017.2786140
M. A. Bhuiyan, H. Zhou, R. Jiang, E. X. Zhang, D. M. Fleetwood, P. D. Ye, and T. P. Ma, “Charge trapping in Al2O3/β-Ga2O3-based MOS capacitors,” IEEE Electron Device Lett., vol. 39, no. 7, pp. 1022-1025, Jul. 2018. DOI: 10.1109/LED.2018.2841899
C. D. Liang, R. Ma, Y. Su, A. O’Hara, E. X. Zhang, M. L. Alles, P. Wang, S. E. Zhao, S. T. Pantelides, S. J. Koester, R. D. Schrimpf, D. M. Fleetwood, “Defects and low-frequency noise in irradiated black phosphorus MOSFETs with HfO2 gate dielectrics,” IEEE Trans. Nucl. Sci., vol. 65, no. 6, pp. 1227-1238, Jun. 2018. DOI: 10.1109/TNS.2018.2828080
F. Faccio, G. Borghello, E. Lerario, D. M. Fleetwood, R. D. Schrimpf, H. Gong, E. X. Zhang, P. Wang, S. Michelis, S. Gerardin, A. Paccagnella, and S. Bonaldo, “Influence of LDD spacers and H+ transport on the total-ionizing-dose response of 65 nm MOSFETs irradiated to ultrahigh doses,” IEEE Trans. Nucl. Sci. vol. 65, no. 1, pp. 164-174, Jan. 2018. DOI: 10.1109/TNS.2017.2760629